m: North Carolina Department of Public Safety

Voluntary Shared Leave Donation Form & Guide

SECTION 1: TO BE COMPLETED BY DONOR’S WORK LOCATION ONLY. Please print or type. Incomplete forms will not be accepted.
Please fax completed form to work unit. HR Rep/Designee will complete and forward to Central HR.

Donor’s Name: BEACON #:
Donor’s Agency: Donor’s Division/Section:
Donor’s Work Location Contact: Location Phone #:

In accordance with the Voluntary Shared Leave Policy of the State of North Carolina, | hereby authorize the
transfer of (Please see attached Donation Guide for policy limitations):

Vacation Leave (4 hr minimum)
Bonus Leave (4 hr minimum)
Sick F (sick leave donated to a family member; 4 hr minimum, 1040 hr max)

Sick NF (sick leave donated to a non family member; 4 hr minimum, 40 hr max)

Donor’s VSL Representative’s Signature Date

SECTION 2: TO BE COMPLETED BY THE DONOR ONLY.

To the account of (VSL Recipient):
If not a Department of Public Safety employee, give Recipient’s Agency name:
Name of Recipient’s Agency VSL Coordinator:
Email & Ph# of Recipient’s Agency VSL Coordinator:

Donor’s relationship to VSL Recipient:

I understand that the donation of leave is entirely voluntary. | am aware of the State retirement credit
consequences of donating sick leave: At retirement, a member of the TSERS with an earned sick leave balance
receives an additional month of service credit for each 20 days or portion thereof. The additional service credit
increases the retirement benefit for the remainder of the life of the retiree.

Leave used under the VSL program may not be sold for money or exchanged for favors. If this activity is
discovered, it will be viewed as unacceptable personal conduct and dealt with accordingly.

Donor’s Signature Date

SECTUION 3: TO BE COMPLETED BY DPS CENTRAL HR VSL COORDINATOR ONLY.

Donor is eligible to donate in accordance with the State of North Carolina Voluntary Shared Leave Policy.

DPS Central VSL Coordinator’s Signature Date
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Leave Returned: [ lYes [ ]No Amount:

North Carolina Department of Public Safety

Voluntary Shared Leave Donation Form & Guide

Who Can Donate What Leave to Whom?

Immediate Family Member Donation in any

State Agency Sick Leave
Vacation Leave
(This INCLUDES Public Schools and Bonus Leave

Community Colleges. This DOES NOT
include Local Government.)

Non-Family Member Donation in any State

Agency Sick Leave
Vacation Leave
(This DOES NOT include Public Schools, Bonus Leave

Community Colleges or Local Government.)

Non-Family Member Donation to a co-

worker’s immediate family member who is Vacation Leave
employed in any Public School or Community Bonus Leave
College (Cannot donate Sick Leave)

NOTE: Definition of Immediate Family: Spouse, parents, children, other dependents, brothers, sisters,
grandparents, grandchildren, great-grandparents, great-grandchildren, and step, half, and in-law
relationships. Not included are uncles, aunts, cousins, nieces and nephews.

Vacation Leave - Donating Guide

Minimum donation amount of 4 hrs; Donor must maintain % the annual earning rate

Months of Service | Years of Service/Earning Rate Minimum Balance to Maintain
Less than 5 yrs.
0-59 months 9.33 56+ hours remaining
5 yrs. But less than 10 yrs.
60-119 months 11.33 68+ hours remaining
10 yrs. But less than 15 yrs.
120-179 months 13.33 80+ hours remaining
15 yrs. But less than 20 yrs.
180-239 months 15.33 92+ hours remaining
20 yrs. Or more
240+ months 17.33 104+ hours remaining

Bonus Vacation Leave - Donating Guide

Minimum donation amount of 4 hrs; There is no minimum balance which must be maintained.

Sick Leave - Donating Guide

e Minimum donation amount of 4 hrs; Donor must maintain a balance of 40 hrs

¢ A non family member donor shall not donate more than 5 days of sick leave per year to any
one non family member

o The combined total of sick leave donated to a recipient from non family member donors
shall not exceed 20 days
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